singlehood and takendom

Prompt 01: Your current relationship. If single, discuss how single life is.

If the two camps for this prompt are being single or being taken, then I would reside in the camp of being taken. Very happily, I might add.

I’m under the impression that for a 30 day challenge, I can make up my own rules, as long as I continue to write about the subject of the prompt. SO, with that being said, I will continue to be a girl and discuss the land of takendom (even if the prompt does seem to show preferential treatment to discussing singlehood).

Also, in addition to the disclaimer in the previous post, here’s one more: this is my blog and I fully claim the right to make up words. Hence singlehood and takendom.

OK so: TAKENDOM. 🙂 I can’t find a picture to post, but I am the happy other side of a relationship with an M.R.D. (What a stately name. If “, Esq.” were attached to the end, it would roll right off the tongue, wouldn’t it?) It’s pretty wonderful. And I am not just saying that because he may read this later.

I am a big proponent of making lists. So, at this point, I am going to happily introduce you to all the fantastic things about why I love (dating) him.

  • He loves Jesus. This deserves its own bulletpoint.
  • We both love the same music (mostly). I have never dated anyone who loved the same music as I, and I never realized just how great it was until we started. It’s phenomenal. (Even if he doesn’t like Coldplay as much as he should.) (Dear Mike: if you’re reading this, start liking Coldplay more! xoxo)
  • Cookies. Cakes. Cooking and baking everything we can think of. Before I even knew he was interested in dating, we started baking together (ginger snaps, if you’re curious, and they were DELICIOUS). I got to know him in our kitchens and we’ve been enjoying our time there ever since. I love learning how to work well and “be messy” with another person.
  • He’s not confrontational but he doesn’t hide the truth. I struggle with telling the truth, but I struggle even more with saying it kindly. He does not have this problem and chooses to speak honestly, but humbly (which softens the edges greatly). I’m thankful that if I ask him a question, I will get an honest answer.
  • He thinks about things before saying them. This is one of the things that stands out about him: he doesn’t just say things in a cavalier fashion. Everything that pushes itself out of his mouth is something that has first been filtered through his brain. It’s a lesson for me, especially as someone who will just spout off to fill potentially awkward silences.

There are many more things, but it is late, and I have a bed waiting for me. Maybe I’ll expand the list later (because goodness knows I could go on!).

styrofoam peanuts and cardboard box

Leave a Reply

