circa-reverse

02. Where you’d like to be in ten years.

Disclaimer: This is my blog and I do what I want. Like write the second day’s prompt three days after my first one. Say whaaaat?!

So, this blog’s entry will be about the forecast for the next ten years. It is at this point I’d like to bring your attention to one of my favourite Nelson Mandela quotes:

“There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered.”

This is a little of how I feel regarding my old ten year plan. Recently, after having excavated some old journals, I have been remembering circa-2006 and circa-2010 when I was a fresh-out-of-high-school graduate and, then, a slightly more seasoned college graduate. Let me tell you, folks, if there’s anything that’s unchanged, it’s old journals. Sometimes re-reading them makes me cringe, especially if I find a spelling error or a particularly egregious handwriting sample.

From the time I left Baltimore for college, I wanted out. I wanted to leave. I distinctly remember thinking as I packed up my stuff and loaded it into the death-trap, also known as our family minivan, that this was the last time I was ever going to live with my parents. This was a happy pre-cursor to me leaving  Maryland for good.

Boy, was I wrong. And you know something? I’m so glad. God’s plan is better than I ever could have guessed, even if it did involve coming back to Baltimore and living with my parents for a year and a half after college. Many of my plans, which used to involve moving far away, starting a job at a major publishing company or becoming the next J.K. Rowling, and getting married three months out of college are… well… not exactly shot, but they’re less of a priority than they were (though I confess, it would be lovely to be married *nudgenudgenudge*).

Anyways, now my plans are more fluid. I do have goals (for instance, to publish a book and memorize more Scripture), but I’m finding that navigating where the Lord has me currently is more than enough to keep me busy.

It sounds too simple to say, but in ten years I want to know more about speaking the truth in love. I want to practice courage. And I want to become a person who makes time to pray for people and write them encouraging notes.

Anyhow, fun fact, I used to have a LiveJournal. I’m not going to tell you the URL. But, on this mysterious livejournal, I made a list of “Things to Do Before I’m Thirty.” (Admittedly, less than ten years from now, but hey.) Here are some of them.

  • See Coldplay live
  • Learn to drive stick
  • Go to Europe. Have tea and biscuits in cafe while I’m there.
  • Visit all the states in the U.S., particularly the West Coast
  • Memorize one more chapters in the Bible
  • Get married
  • Finish a short story
  • Go parasailing

In closing, I’ll leave you with this closing quote from one of my all-time favorite movies… anyone who can guess it wins a prize. Furthermore, anyone who knows who said it also wins some points. (IMDB, Wikiquote, and Google make cheaters out of the best of us, people.)

“Instead of telling our young people to plan ahead, we should tell them to plan to be surprised.”

Image

Leave a Reply

