“Dave’s not here, man.”

03. Your views on drugs and alcohol.

Even if alcohol and drugs are legal, this does not make them good. As G.K. Chesterton once said, “To have a right to do something and to be right in doing it are not at all the same.” Though there may not be anything wrong with consuming alcohol after the age of 21, or smoking pot in Colorado or Washington, this does not change the fact that alcohol and drugs are subtle masters that can destroy our lives with ease.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not opposed to the occasional beer or glass of wine. (I mean, for goodness’ sakes, at this very moment I have Blue Moons in my fridge. I also happen to have three bottles of rum in my storehouses, albeit only for cooking purposes.) But I think that overconsumption with any medium– be it food, drugs, alcohol, etc.– will not meet what we actually crave.

Ephesians 5:18 says not to be drunk on wine, but rather filled with the Spirit. It’s taken me a large amount of time to understand that when you don’t fill (literally and figuratively) your body and life with one thing, it only makes sense to fill it with something else.
One of my favourite things about God’s Law is that even if He withholds something, there is something else He gives even better than what He denies. Alcohol, drugs, sex, money, power, anything else we think we need become things we don’t actually need. Psalm 4:7 says “You have put gladness in my heart, more than when their grain and new wine abound.”

Regarding drugs, I’ve heard the same excuse used for drugs that I have for cigarettes: they’re keeping me sane. I’m stressed out and I need an outlet. They make me feel more in control. Etc. Etc. Etc.

Lies.

Drugs may give off that feeling; I’m not going to say that they don’t. But the feeling of control can subtly move from being in your hands and then move to around them. They go from something you control to something that controls you. And that cannot symbolize or point to any good thing.

Leave a Reply

